Daniel Flew Home: Vegan Gajar Ka Halwa (Carrot Pudding)

Daniel flew home today. Midday, we received a message on WhatsApp. Daniel informed us that he would not be returning to the crew. He thanked us for our kindness. He wished us well as he abandoned us when we are now as far away as we will ever be. As I read the message, my heart broke. The pieces sank to muddy bottom of the deep water weighed down by their sorrow.

I am sad. When I am sad, I eat food. Preferably, sweet foods. I find I have an increasingly unhealthy relationship with sugar. When I’m stressed out or upset, I turn to it for comfort. I love the way I can dream of sugar plum fairies dancing about my head. However, no matter how much I love sugar, it will never love me back. I am forever doomed to a one sided relationship, in which I cling to the other and receive nothing but a sour stomach, weight gain and a quick drop in blood sugar.

Realizing this increasingly abusive relationship, I decided to attempt to gain control over my eating habits. Instead of consuming processed sugar, I turn to fruit to assuage my yearning for the tender sweetness of sugary delights. Instead of my favorite sour candies, I look for dark chocolate of higher than 70% of cocoa. And instead of delicious Mexican pastries, I made my own vegan desserts with rich in nutrients and low in sugar.

Vegan Gajar Ka Halwa (Carrot Pudding)

6 carrots, peeled and grated

1 can coconut milk

1 tsp garam masala

½ tsp cardamom

½ cup sugar

Garnish with toasted coconut, pistachios, nuts, or dried fruit

IMG_3927.JPG

Heat a pan. Add coconut milk and cardamom powder and garam masala. Add the grated carrot and switch to low-medium flame. Stir well for 20 mins until all the moisture is completely absorbed by the carrots and the milk level is reduced. Really, you want to be boiling out the water content of the canned coconut milk. Add sugar and cook for 5 more minutes or till the mixture starts leaving the sides of the pan. Garnish and serve either hot or cold.

Leave a Reply

